Edward Adjaho’s biography, net worth, fact, career, awards and life story

Intro Ghanaian barrister and politician
Is Politician 
From Ghana 
Type Law 
Gender male
Birth 3 January 1957, Ghana, Ghana
Age: 63 years
Star sign Capricorn
Politics National Democratic Congress
University of Ghana Bachelor of Laws
Accra Academy
Ghana School of Law

Edward Korbly Doe Adjaho, MP (born 3 January 1957) is a Ghanaian politician and barrister who was Speaker of the Parliament of Ghana from 2013 to 2017.

He was elected to the position of Speaker of Parliament in the morning of 7 January 2013, succeeding Joyce Adeline Bamford-Addo. He is the first speaker to have been elected from among members of Ghana’s parliament. He thus became the fifth Speaker of the Fourth Republic of Ghana. Following his elevation to the position of Speaker, he resigned his position as Member of Parliament for the Avenor-Ave constituency in the Parliament of Ghana. He is one of the few politicians who have retained their seats in parliament throughout the Fourth Republic of Ghana. He is also a member of the Pan-African Parliament.


Adjaho studied at the Accra Academy and continued his education at the University of Ghana, where he obtained the LL.B. degree in 1984. At the Ghana School of Law he trained to become a barrister-at-law in 1986. He worked at the Attorney-General’s department before turning to politics.


Adjaho stood on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress in the 1992 parliamentary election and retained his seat in all four subsequent elections.

By virtue of Article 97 of the 1992 Constitution, Adjaho vacated his seat upon assumption of the office of Speaker of Parliament. He was sworn in by Chief Justice Georgina Theodora Woode at the first sitting of the new Parliament. His tenure ended on 6 January 2017 after the 6th Parliament was dissolved.

Personal life

Adjaho is a Christian. He is married and has four children.


  • Attorney-General’s Department
  • Member of Parliament (January 1993–January 2013)


Parliament of Ghana
New title Member of Parliament for Avenor-Ave
1993 – 7 January 2013
Succeeded by
Bernard Ahiafor
Preceded by
Freddie Blay
First Deputy Speaker, Parliament of Ghana
2009 – 2013
Succeeded by
Ebo Barton Oduro
Preceded by
Joyce Adeline Bamford-Addo
Speaker of Ghanaian Parliament
2013 – 2017
Succeeded by
Mike Oquaye